Skip to content


The TDArts team is made up of Adrien Whan as Director, Janelle Rainville as Conference Administrator and, of course, our many talented instructors. TDArts instructors are chosen because they are working professionals with successful careers in the arts. Through their advice, expertise and helpful hints, each participant will have the opportunity to explore the many facets of Technical Direction.

ADRIEN WHAN It all began when Adrien was asked to operate lights for the Battle of The Bands at his high school, he was hooked immediately, and has been in love with making cool things happen in theatres (and other spaces) ever since. A graduate of Toronto Metropolitan University (formerly Ryerson Theatre School), Adrien went on to work as a freelance technician all over the city. Landing full time gigs as Assistant Technical Director at YPT, Technical Director for Buddies In Bad Times Theatre, as well as continuing to freelance as PM/TD for many theatre and dance companies both in Toronto and on tours around the globe. Adrien also dabbles in lighting design and occasionally calls some shows too.

JANELLE RAINVILLE has had the opportunity to stage manage for a variety of genres over the past 22 years including theatre, musicals, tours and special events, though the bulk of her time is spent working in the realm of dance. She spent 4 seasons with the National Ballet of Canada as ASM and SM for YOU Dance. In 2006, Janelle transitioned into Production Management, working with Le Théâtre français de Toronto, University of Waterloo & Magnetic North Theatre Festival. In her “spare” time, Janelle is the Executive Director of SMArts Stage Managing the Arts, the not-for-porfit organization that houses SMArts, PMArts and TDArts. She has taught stage management in many institutions across Southern Ontario including Ryerson, UWaterloo, and Fanshawe College. But her favourite project thus far has been her son, Hunter – the first ‘SMArts’ baby.

During each conference we have the invaluable assistance of an emerging TD / PM. Without their help the conference could not run as smoothly as it does.

  • 2019 – C.J. Astronomo
  • 2020 –
Back To Top Skip to content